Home > music - EDM > Sunday Ultra [Reverie] (more than a week late)

Sunday Ultra [Reverie] (more than a week late)

After going out last night and walking around South Beach, we still woke up relatively early to take a nice walk on the beach. We walked about a good mile down it because it was so nice out. The water felt refreshing hitting our feet and the sun was just right.

Photobucket

After my hearty breakfast of a “Big Texas Cinnamon Roll” and a Red Bull I was ready for the last day of Ultra. There was no arguing between me and Ryan what the ideal line up of today was.. definitely ASOT500.ALL.DAY. This line up is a trance lover’s dream come true. Minus Above and Beyond and Paul van Dyk, this line up had the biggest names in the WORLD!

some guy was giving these out on the corner:
Photobucket

the most amazing piece of art that I saw in Miami: A bike chained to a pole.. Its front wheel taken off.. It must have been there for a long time.. long enough for someone to do this to it:
Photobucket
the detail in this was amazing. they went and covered the pedals on both sides.. etc. You can tell its been there for a while like that too. I wonder how long it’ll stay there..

We arrived at Ultra at the beginning of Gareth Emery’s set. I’ve been listening to Gareth Emery’s podcast for about a year now, it’s one of my favorite trance podcasts. He definitely had a great set. My favorite highlights were when he played:

Photobucket

One of my favorite vocal trance songs, mashed up. I can’t sing to save my life.. but believe me, I was singing pretty awesome to this. I keep a mental list of songs I’d like to hear live.. and this.. strikes one off. Thanks Gareth Emery
Gareth Emery vs. Motorcycle vs. Andy Moor feat. Carrie Skipper vs. Myon & Shane 54 – As The So Exposure Comes (Gareth Emery Mashup)

beautiful song, beautiful vocals, wonderful breakdown and build up.. you can’t ask for much more. I’m getting goosebumps all over as this song plays again.
Gareth Emery feat. Lucy Saunders – Fight The Sunrise (Daniel Kandi Remix)

Strike another one off my list of songs to hear live. This is probably my favorite song by Above and Beyond.. and I just heard it at Ultra.. this is more than a good day.
Above & Beyond & Gareth Emery pres. OceanLab – On A Good Day (Metropolis)

and of course he plays Sanctuary..

Photobucket

RIGHT after Gareth Emery’s set ended, Ferry hopped right on. This is a HUGE difference to my Ultra 2009 experience where there was at least 15 minutes between sets. I love this fast switch and keeping up the energy. So Ferry, show us what you got!

Photobucket

My favorite songs from his set were:
Ferry Corsten – Made of Love
Ferry Corsten – Beautiful
this song also gives me goosebumps. i love it.
Coldplay – The Scientist(Maarten De Jong Bootleg)
and of course he has to play his classic…
Ferry Corsten – Punk (MarLo Remix)

Photobucket

Met Andy and Toulou up really quick.
Photobucket

saw this too:
Photobucket

ARMIN VAN BUUREN!!!!

This will be the second time i’ve seen Armin Van Buuren. My first time was at Ultra 2009. I liked his set although it was only an hour. This set was 2 hours so I knew this would be epic. Here we go!

Photobucket

My favorite songs he played were:

Aly & Fila feat. Jwaydan – We Control The Sunlight
(i couldnt find a video from ultra for this one)

Shogun – Skyfire

For An Angel is a trance classic and I’m glad I had the chance to hear it live. Too bad Paul Van Dyk wasn’t the one to play it for me. Still, what a great combination of closing songs..
Nardo / For An Angel

This song is forever ingrained in me as the song that closed out one of the best sets I’ve heard in my entire life.
Armin van Buuren – Communication Part 3

Photobucket

Photobucket

ATB!

Photobucket

Ryan and I decided to take a bathroom break right as ATB was coming on.. and then he opened with this song.. so I had to stay and listen..
ATB feat. Tiff Lacey – Ecstasy

Right after Ecstasy played, we were like, ok lets go to the bathroom.. and then this song comes on.. DAMN U ATB SRSLY.. so I stayed for this one too.. This is the song for which this entry is titled.
First State feat. Sarah Howells – Reverie (First State’s Pounding Club Mix)

From the stage
I see you
in the shadows, staring into space
I’m alone… peddling poems
and the stage lights break across your face

Reverie, reverie you are all I need
Suddenly suddenly only silence sounds inside
Could it be could it be all that I’ve ever wanted
to be free, to be free with you standing by my side

One of the more surprising songs he played was Du Hast... which translates to You Hate [me] (thanks google). Oh man, ATB was going crazy on the air drums. It was great.. and a nice change of pace from straight trance that we’ve heard all day.

This is my second time seeing ATB actually and the last time I saw him, he played this as one of his closing songs also.. a nice melodic D&B (drum and bass) [liquid?] vocal song..
ATB – What About Us

This was the perfect set up as we were going to leave after ATB’s set to see Sub Focus.

Walking to the Live Stage where Sub Focus was going to perform, I saw Danny and Peggy! group pic!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Even with only a 45 minute set, Sub Focus KILLED IT. Wow. Looking back, it was my second favorite set in all of Ultra 2011, the first being AVB.

Danny stringing:

Photobucket

It was hard to get any good pics of his set up.. but man I loved his visual too.
Photobucket

He opened up the set with his huge hit: Rock It

In the Rock It video you can get a good view of his visual set up. You can also get a taste of the suck ass MC that was talking over his set the whole night. Oh well.

Sub Focus – Time Warp

Rusko – Hold On (Sub Focus Remix)

I was probably most excited when he dropped his new song “Falling Down”.

This is the only copy on the whole internetz I can find!!! I’m so glad I was one of the very few to experience this song..

SUB FOCUS – FALLING DOWN

Sub Focus’ set ended at 11:30, just enough time to go back to the ASOT500 tent and close Ultra 2011 with some trance.

SANDER VAN DOORN

My party and I caught the last 30 minutes of Sander Van Doorn. I would have liked to hear his whole set live but I wouldn’t have traded that for Sub Focus.

I can’t find too many videos of SVD playing but here’s one. I remember these songs..

Sander Van Doorn – Daisy/ ID?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And so ends Ultra 2011

Walking back to the car.

Photobucket

[Monday 3/28/2011]

Woke up on time but it wasn’t sunny. We left our hotel for Jacksonville at 10:30 and it rained the whole way. Thank god it was perfect on Ultra, thats all I wanted. Thanks to Ryan for driving and for the hotel room and letting my friends stay with us too. Thanks Amanda and David for coming along. Thanks to Danny and Peggy for going crazy with me at Sub Focus. Thanks to Andy and Toulou for meeting me up at Ultra.

And so ends my Ultra experience. Here’s to many more.

_________________________________________________________________

LOVE [music] Stimulation

If you want to download any of the ASOT500 sets from Sunday Ultra they’re all available at this link (including the track lists!)

LINK TO ASOT500 SETS AND TRACKLISTS VIA LIVESETS.US

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

